For those of you who know me well you know I often mix up my words – especially if I’m trying to say a cliche.  In fact, I’ve learned that I should just steer clear of cliches as they almost never come out right.  For example, there was the time I said that someone “walks to the dream of her own butt” instead of “walks to the beat of her own drum”.  Stuff like that.  Or, “when the ship sails they’ll come in”….I half remember what they’re supposed to say, but add my own twist. 

I looked up mixed up clichesin google and stumbled on this website – cracked me up!  Here are a few others have mixed up (click here for more):

  1. he couldn’t hit the broad side of a barn if it was staring him in the face
  2. take that to the bank and smoke it
  3. make like a tree and leave it up to someone else
  4. don’t count your chickens before the cows come home
  5. don’t count your chickens before they cross the road
  6. I’m the lowest on the pecking pole
  7. the luck stops here
  8. back of the seat of the envelope calculation
  9. six and one and a half dozen of another
  10. wake up and smell the butter …

I also love the common misused words – Rob’s sweet grandma used to have appointments with the choirpactor instead of the chiropractor.  The doctors would also give her a consolation instead of a consultation.  My dad used to always pronounce puberty as poo-ber-tee which would send us into giggles as kids.

What are some of the mispronounced words you’ve heard or misused cliches?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

9 responses »

  1. quejeveux says:

    Hahaha, take that to the bank and smoke it! I simply must make it part of my vocabulary from now on.

  2. Jason says:

    Hey, do you remember Hamo Cats?

  3. ~keri says:

    Hey Carol Ann!
    My dad constantly says “pasture” for “Pastor”. We have corrected him time and time again, but he still says it wrong…at times it can be quite embarrassing! Now I think he does it on purpose! Hope all is well! Miss ya lots!
    ~keri

  4. Heather says:

    Haha pooberty, my 11 year old son HATES that word, he’s decided to call it DEVELOPMENT instead……

    I do it to, but way worse! like instead of saying “Start a fire” I’ll say something like “fart a stire” there’s an actual name for it, but I can’t remember what it is, it’s named after some poor guy that kept mixing up his letters like that…..

  5. stephanie says:

    i couldn’t say magazine until i was 13…i said mazagine (and even to this day i have to consciously think about the word before saying it).
    my dad preached a whole sermon using a caterpillar as an illustration, but every time he said it he called it a cal-uh-pitter.

    (c:

  6. Mike says:

    Mixing up to letters like “fighting a liar” instead of “lighting a fire” are called spoonerisms

  7. Tabitha says:

    To add to your collection, my friend often uses:
    “The Ship has flown the coop”
    “Put that in the pot and boil it”
    “Whatever soaks your cracker”
    “Don’t give all your straws to the camel”

  8. Erica says:

    My poor husband cant use a cliche either. He has said “He’s just soiling his oats” “I hate jumping through all this red tape”…the list goes on! Ha!

  9. Chuck says:

    An old friend told my how to plant a tree so that it will grow like a stuck pig.
    Oh well, I’m beating a dead horse to death.

Leave a Reply

