I took the day off work today and Rob and I mapped out all the things we’d like to accomplish this weekend.  Whew!  Day 1 is over and I’m tired!  We finished the front yard, back yard, painting Bethany’s furniture and have almost finished her room. 

It’s been like a puzzle – getting organized that is.  Robbin moved out over a year ago, Elise moved into her room in the basement [but left half of her life still in her old room].  Bethany was living on campus at DU this Spring when we decided to repaint her room and furniture.  Well – we got half way done and Bethany moved home in May, to a “not quite finished” room.  Since the furniture was in the process of being painted – there was nothing to organize her stuff, so she put the bulk of it in Elise’s old room.  Great, now we have half of Elise’s life and half of Bethany’s life in Elise’s old room!  Then our basement flooded a couple of times and we had to move quite a few things into the garage so we could clean.  Well the garage is already in a sad state of affairs…good intentions of cleaning over the past few months have gone awry for various reasons.  Then our TV went out, we saved up for a new one and finally got it, only it doesn’t fit in our entertainment center and so, yep, the entertainment center is now temporarily residing in the garage….along with an odd assortment of other things which now live in the garage because they don’t fit in the house.  YIKES!!!!!

So, finally Rob and I decided we’ve had it and this weekend is the weekend to make as much of a dent into all this craziness as we can.  Three days to go, we made great progress today.  It’s not been fun because we’ve had to say no to several friends “tempting” us to come over this weekend for a BBQ .  But, we’re determined, at least so far!  I hope we stay determined to get through as much of our list as possible.

One observation – when you’re determined to de-clutter, it’s amazing what you’re willing to part with! 

Okay, I’m off to clean something!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    Well-I was going to try to do some things this weekend, too, but now I am worn out from reading your post and think I need some rest! Whew! How do you do it? I wouldn’t have had the strength to blog! Ha!

  2. Hi! Thanks for sharing this! I can definitely relate. I dropped in to tell you I’m giving you an “I Love Your Blog” award. Another blogger gave me the award on Saturday, and to accept it, I have to give the award to seven others. I don’t read a lot of blogs, only a few really good ones that I like, for one reason or the other. When you have a bit of time in between the cleaning and sorting out stuff, please try to visit my September 1 post on my blog to read the reason why I’m giving you the award. Abundant blessings be yours today!

Leave a Reply

