Am I the only one?  I seem to think in songs.  It’s a lot of fun most of the time, severly distracting at other times!  It goes like this…someone might say something in a meeting or in conversation like…”We just need more TIME!”  So immediately my mind clicks in – like an iPod scrolling through the very huge music library in my head…I start humming in my head, (sometimes out loud if appropriate – well, actually even sometimes when it’s not appropriate)

“Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’ slippin’ into the future…” 

“Time is tickin’ it keeps on ticking it keeps on tickin’ away!” 

“If I could save time in a bottle, the first thing that I’d like to do..”

…and so on. 

It gets worse!  Sometimes I imagine a full out musical in my head…I’l be in a restaurant or something…my mind’s music library clicks on and I imagine jumping out of my seat, on to the table, and bursting in to song, choreography and all, encouraging the other customers to join in until we’re all starring in our own musical!  I know, it’s strange – but true!  Maybe that’s why I loved the movie release of Mama Mia! 🙂

Okay, that’s it, this blog is over….

“Look like it’s over, we knew there’d come a day….”

 (Bonus points to the reader who actually knows all of these songs!)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

10 responses »

  1. Missy says:

    Ha! Charline and I do the same thing all the time! What’s scary is that 9 times out of 10 we’ll burst into the SAME song. Weird!

  2. nevalamb says:

    I am unfamiliar with all of these songs…what era are they from? (hahaha)

  3. The only one! NOT!

    I do it all the time… Well, maybe not the musicals…

  4. Carol Ann says:

    Clearly Neva has been deprived. I’m so sorry, Neva! It must have been hard growing up only being able to listen to the Gaithers, Sandy Patty and others like them. 🙂

  5. J says:

    Oh yes, most certainly, I think in songs – especially in Bible reading.
    Time after time…
    A time for us someday there’ll be…
    The first time ever I saw your face…
    And a time for every purpose under heaven…
    Just over in the glory land, we’ll join….
    Over the river and through the wood…

    Do I get points??
    From the 70s, Steve Miller Band
    From DC Talk? not sure…?
    From Jim Croce (I saw him sing it on a TV show just before he died-when I was 11)
    Sad Eyes-that took me a bit…I know the song and recognized the lyric, but kept wanting to put it to a Barry Manilow song and it took me a bit to shake that….

  6. Debb says:

    Time to get that iPod of yours fixed! And, yes, I do know the songs you’ve listed… sounds like Neva may need for us to take a long road trip with her though and expose her to the greatest music of the ages (60s, 70s, 80s). :-0

  7. nevalamb says:

    Clearly, Carolann has been deprived of all current music. It seems she can only think in her decade, the 50’s. hahahaha….:)

  8. Jenny Freyta says:

    CAK!!! HAha, I thought I was the only one who imagine what it would be like to burst into song at any given moment, in very public places- like the old musicals. I love that you do that! It gives me endless entertainment to imagine the looks on other people’s faces if I were to do that. Priceless. You know there’s a quote I’ve always loved that says, “Blessed are they who can laugh at themselves, for they will never cease to be amused.” Our lives will never lack a little laughter! 🙂 Love you!

  9. Carol Ann says:

    Jeanie definitely gets the readers bonus points for this post! She knew all the songs. 🙂

  10. Donna says:

    Well, I knew them too, but she can have the credit….tee hee. CAK, you are not weird, btw. Maybe I’m Crazy, Maybe You’re Crazy, Maybe We’re Crazy…..reveal me that one oh music queen.

Leave a Reply

