Yeah, I’m not so good at the “good bye” thing.  After 6 1/2 years my season of working for Dare 2 Share Ministries is coming to an end.  I’m heading off to a new adventure working with an organization close to home that impacts the community by providing assistance to the less fortunate – immigrant families, homeless families and poverty line families.  More to follow on the new job as I get settled.

It’s been interesting packing up my life from the time I spent at D2S.  I’ve been laughing, shedding a few tears, embarrassed that I’ve been such a pack rat, sending out random emails of historical evidence of the craziness that’s happened.  I found many pictures that I MUST hold on to for bribery purposes in the future – like Greg in spandex, awkward!  I found old documents with goals that were set and progress reports.  I smile at all the many weekly status reports that are archived in my electronic folders.  Remembering some obstacles that I thought were insurmountable only to look back and realize that they seem silly now.  I am remembering all the craziness, being scared out of my wits from Greg hiding behind doors, under my desk, behind corners— all because he knows that if I get too scared I throw up.  His mission has been to make that happen.  (Hasn’t yet, by the way.)  

It’s been a tremendous season of learning for me – Debb, thanks for investing in me and being willing to teach me to become a leader and to understand the big bad world of Marketing and Communications!  As a bonus, through all the business stuff we became lifetime friends – how awesome is that!  I will always be grateful.  Debb, Greg and Dave – thanks for faithfully investing your lives into this ministry.  Keep making the tough decisions bathed in prayer and remember – “The Gospel of Grace, with Grace!” 🙂  I take a part of D2S with me and know that I’m not “done” by any means, just “done” with the season of working there. I will miss it.

I have hope that things will not only continue on, but continue on well.  I have an amazing team that God granted me the privilege of leading.  They are strength and grace under fire.  I admire each one of them, care deeply for each one of them, and have seen the tremendous potential in all of them.  It is such a HUGE blessing to transition off the many details to the interim Director with this statement, “But, don’t worry, the team has this under control.  They’re all over it!” 

So, Tristan (our only male representative on the team who has put up with many meetings of random girl conversations happening), Mandy, Mandee, Kathy and Jen – you guys rock!  I am proud of you and will always be interested in what’s happening in your lives.  Thanks for the many hours of dedication and commitment you’ve all shown.  I will be praying for you during this transition time and I have no doubt that each of you will shine.  Lean in to the Lord’s promises – remember our daily times of prayer where we reminded ourselves often of the importance of being filled up by Him to handle whatever happens in that day.  Laugh often – that should be easy, there’s plenty of things I unintentionally did that were entertaining to us all!  Lean on each other and keep each other accountable to be honoring to the team, the staff and most of all to the Lord!

The leadership team and the rest of the staff I haven’t mentioned by name, know that you are ALL a part of my life, a part that will never be forgotten.  Keep the “ness” alive for me – you will be missed a ton!  Keep in touch!

I’ve decided to have a script as I leave  – not “Good Bye” with a lot of drama, but “See you soon!” or for those I have the ongoing blessing of attending church with, “See ya at church!” Yeah, that will be much easier!

So….here’s to new adventures, I’m jumping in to the deep end and I’m excited!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

12 responses »

  1. Jason says:

    just know that i am not taking it for granted that we will continue to see each other at church and do life together in small group. love ya big sis!

  2. stephanie says:

    so excited for you on this new journey!! you’ll be missed, but i know i’ll see you around. (c:

    thanks for always bringing a smile to my face!

  3. J says:

    Your DNA will remain all over that ministry for a longtime to come, I am sure!

  4. Jen says:

    As I wipe the tears from my eyes, I realize that this is starting to hit me. Thank you so much for your leadership, guidance, friendship, love, mentorship, example and discipleship. You mean so much to me, and I’ve been so blessed being able to work with you this past year. I love you!

  5. Tara Powers says:

    CarolAnn,
    I’m so excited for you in your new adventure! It’s hard to think of D2S without you there?! I never would have worked there or known anything about it without you and Tristan is there now because of that too! Praying for you!
    tp

  6. Ken Allen says:

    Carol Ann,

    Thank you for your servant heart and wisdom! You will be missed at Dare 2 Share and by me! God bless you and your family in this next part of the journey.

    Ken

  7. Teri Martinez says:

    Carol Ann,

    This is a “sweet and sour” moment for me. I will miss you and your forever sweet attitude but knowing that others will be able to experience it, makes it a little easier. You are not leaving alone. May God continue to direct and bless you. I love you, Teri

  8. ~keri says:

    Carol Ann, I am so excited for you as you begin this new path on your journey (although I’m not sure how D2S is going to function without you!) You are an incredible person, and I know you will make just as big as an impact in your new role as you have at D2S. I know it is hard to leave D2S as they are an incredible group of people…i miss them dearly (I cried for days when I left.) May God bless you as you start your new adventure. I know you will do an amazing job! Love and miss you lots!

  9. glo gaines says:

    Carol Ann Who???? ;p
    Truly……..it won’t be quite the same without you around here, but it is so exciting to know that God has something in store for you that is so very close to your heart !
    Vaya con dios, mi amiga! ¡Te amo y faltará su sonrisa y actitud grandemente! ¡Gracias por siempre ser una influencia positiva! Dios bendice mientras que usted comienza su nuevo ” ¡assignment”! 🙂
    (okay…so yeah…I knew a little bit of this on my own…but….ya just gotta love Babel Fish!)

    Come see us! I don’t go to NHCC, remember?? 😉

  10. specialkkluthe says:

    CAK, You brought so much humor and laughter to our world. I will miss you more than I can say! I still remember when I applied for my job, you had to reschedule my interview like 3 times!! Ah, the chaotic Ness of Marketing 🙂 I don’t know what else to say except you are such an amazing person, both as a boss and as a friend, and I have been blessed in a huge way by having you in my life. I know that God will use you to impact a new community in a huge way for His kingdom. You should check out my Ode to CAK on my blog 😉

  11. debbiebresina says:

    Okay, so one week went by and I survived without you (barely, but I’m still here!). Yeah, the denial thing isn’t working so well anymore. Besides missing your call the other day and accidently getting the voicemail of you singing me happy birthday I saved (talk about painful!), I still can’t walk by your office. But I finally read this blog post so that’s progress, right? BTW, I may be moving from denial to anger — so watch your back! (jk, you know I love you — no matter what!). I will be praying for you Tuesday my friend!

  12. Toyja says:

    Hey CAK even though we didn’t spend a lot of time together, your joy and your smile is missed. I love this new work family and wish I could have had more time to D2S with you. Thank you for opening the door and may God bless you and everyone else you touch in this new season. Ness really is a word….I know it!

Leave a Reply

