…so, as you know, I’ve started a new job.  I’m still getting used to the lay of the land and my responsibilities.  I love the overall impact and opportunity for future impact through this organization.  However, the current office dynamics are quite unusual to me. 

See, there’s an office dog – named Macy.  Macy’s owner works with the middle school and high school students in our After School Program – Stepping Up, among a number of other duties.  Macy is quite adorable…or should I say, was quite adorable until yesterday. 

Macy’s owner had training offsite all day so my office (for some reason) became the designated site for Macy to spend her day.  A childgate prevents Macy from running around the rest of the office.  I went about my business for the day and apparantly so did Macy.  I returned from a meeting to 2 piles of poop in my office.  Hmmm….yeah, I can honestly say I have never had that experience in the work place before. I loudly proclaimed, “Ummmm, yeah, well, Macy just pooped in my office!”  Thinking if I exclaimed loudly and a bit astonished that someone might come to my rescue.  “Yeah, that happens sometimes!” was the reply as everyone went about their work.  So, I found myself cleaning up the poop and later walking the dog to make sure it didn’t happen again.

When I got home Rob asked me how my day went.  Well…it was unique, the office dog pooped twice in my office, I told him.  After he picked himself up off the floor from laughter he tried to be sympathetic.

Well – I was looking for a new adventure….

(Note:  This morning Macy ate caramels and so there was a big episode of trying to remove the caramel from her face with peanut butter.  She bit one employee and then just ran around with smeared peanut butter on her face until they decided to cut off the piece of stuck caramel.  Who needs reality TV?)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

11 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    Just before i read the last line I was fixing to say: sounds like a winner of a sitcom!

  2. Heather says:

    Oh gosh! Haha that is HORRIBLE…. Can you imgaine if D2S had an office dog and it pooped in Greg’s office???? That dog would hit the bricks quick LOL…..

  3. mandee says:

    That’s ridiculous.

  4. Ta says:

    I had same reaction as Rob…belly roll ~
    welcome to your new job enviornment
    sounds like a anything goes kinda place
    hang in there girl~~~

  5. Neva says:

    Well Cak, that is the weirdest and most peculiar thing I have ever heard. Next time I would put macy in the “owners” space and put the baby gate up there…”um, i have no idea how this happened, honestly!”

  6. Mister-M says:

    Awkward? I would call it potentially unhealthy, not only for the poop episode, but for those who may suffer from allergies.

    A dog takes a dump in my office…

  7. Donna says:

    Ahhhh. pets. They bring a whole new meaning to “roll with the punches” … or – with the “poopies”. Wait, I didn’t mean to actually roll wtih the poopies; it’s just a play on words. I meant that sometimes you just have to go with the flow… I mean, not with the actual “flow” like the opposite of poopies, but you know, just … oh, drat.

    A box of Clorox wipes are handy to have around.

  8. Toyja says:

    Hey CAK, I must say, I have a real visual on this, not from work but from knowing you and Rob. Thanks for the smile-ness. We miss you

  9. Diane says:

    I can’t stop laughing. Sounds like someone failed to fully train you on your job ‘doodies’. I myself would love to have a dog at work. But if I was the owner I know I would have smarts enough to do something with it when I left and not assume everyone else would.

    Welcome to your new job!

  10. ~keri says:

    They should put this in your job description!

Leave a Reply

