I am proudly wearing the above sticker.  Word has it that it will also get me some free stuff…

From 9 News.com:

The folks at Kokoro restaurants are promising really fast service on Election Day to make up for any time you may lose in the voting booth. Also, if you’re wearing an “I Voted” sticker, they will throw in a free egg roll with your purchase.

“Well we just want to show people that it’s important to fulfill their civic duty, but we also realize that civic duty cuts into your day to day duties,” said Mas Torito, a Kokoro manager.

The sticker will also get you some free things at other places.

Voters at Krispy Kreme are entitled to a free doughnut; at Starbucks you can get a free tall coffee; and at Ben and Jerry’s you can get a free scoop of ice cream from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Rob kindly went over the entire ballot with Robbin and I last night.  Thanks, honey, it’s always fun to hear your perspective!  Just so you know, I voted almost exactly like you did…ah the fun of trying to figure out where we differ each election.  It makes life a little spicy and I love it.

I anticipated long lines and the frustration of figuring out the best time to go, but it was actually very easy.  Since they allow you to vote wherever you’d like from all the polling places within your district it made it much easier.  Good thinking, election people!  I chose our church as my polling place of choice – I made it through in less than 15 minutes and as a bonus was able to pick up some muddy buddies and chocolate chip cookies from the MOPs bakesale that they were having there.  Yum! 

It will be interesting to see the results tonight of this election. However, for me, I personally am still thrilled to confidently know that God is in control.  I know it’s important to vote – important to understand why you choose to vote for a certain candidate or for a certain ammendment.  Obviously I have a preference on who I’d like to see win, but either way, I echo Jeanie’s sentiments…

Now don’t kill me for saying this, but: the collective vote of the people is NOT always the right one, the best choice for the nation.  But it is the choice we have made, collectively.  And since we want our democratic society, we have to roll with happens – that is part of getting to participate in the process.  This makes Christians who rip leadership apart instead of praying for them humbly, just as guilty and stupid as the celebrities who claim they’ll leave the country if their candidate doesn’t win the election.  (Read her entire post here.)

I’m off to fix dinner and prepare to hunker down with Rob and Bethany to watch the incoming election results.  Either way, the sun WILL come up tomorrow!

P.S.  Congratulations Bethany on voting in your first presidential election!  I hope you enjoyed the experience.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Heather says:

    I blogged last night after watching the landslide. And while I am proud that a racial barrier has been broken in our country. Jon and I felt the need to pray for our country, and we did so until about midnight. All I can say is this: Christians have a choice everyday to live their faith, and part of living that faith is recognizing that God is our source, not man, and also recognizing that He is in control ALWAYS and that man CANNOT thwart God’s purposes in the earth!

    I am so GRATEFUL to be a child of an amazing Father!

  2. Jeanie says:

    Hey, wow-thanks for the quote! Maybe I shouldn’t have said “stupid…” Always ranting about something, J

  3. Donna says:

    I listened to Izzi. She’s always right.

Leave a Reply

