Today was the day.  The day Rob busted out the….dramatic pause, please…dreaded Excel spreadsheet (read those words with a deep scary echoey voice like in a horror flick) to plan our Christmas shopping.

While I moan and complain a bit about it, it actually has become a great guide for us each year.  We estimate the amounts and people we’ll be gift shopping for and then make sure it fits into our budget.  It’s hard for me, I admit, because I would give to just about everyone if the budget allowed!  But there are other ways to give rather than spending money.  I have a few ideas up my sleeve….

The first year it felt like I was having a tooth pulled when we decided to use the spreadsheet.

32

I drug the spreadsheet with me everywhere and felt awkward checking off and refiguring as I went…I didn’t see too many other folks with spreadsheets!  It’s much easier now, though, in fact, last year I actually put the first draft together!  Of course it required some tweaking from my too ambitious planning to give to the whole world.  🙂

I love how God compliments our lives in marriages – I know it’s good for me to be tempered in my giving to make sure we’re being good stewards.

I know giving gifts at Christmas is definitely NOT the focus of Christmas – it’s Christ’s birth and the miracle of our God sending His only Son, born to die in our place so we could have the wonderful gift of eternal life – how amazing is that!  That is the real FOCUS of Christmas. And  I’m overwhelmed often by the amazing gift of my salvation!

All that said ~ I’m a giver…I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE giving to others.  This time of year it gives me great joy to think of a gift that will make a friend or loved one feel treasured.  So, off I go (with my list that keeps me on track and to keep a happy husband) into the throngs of crowded shops (or to the computer to order things online with Rob – he’s also a non-mall throng participator)!

Note:  Thanks, Rob, for faithfully keeping me on track!  I really do love you and appreciate you! Muah!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Heather says:

    Hey Miss “LOVE TO GIVE” my birthday is December 18th wink wink 🙂 Spreadsheets scare me, just ask Heather L she’ll tell you!

Leave a Reply

