I’m so frustrated with my laptop right now I could venture into a new vocabulary!  In fact it makes me want to bust out an old typewriter!

(this typewriter pictured is similar to the one I learned to type on in typing class in high school….someone donated a bunch of old typewriters like this to the Mission Boarding School where I attended.   I can still hear the clackity clack clacking of the typing room as all the students typed:   “The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs” …)

I know it’s just a matter of understanding all the wonderful computer-ese the laptop says as it reminds me of locked files, install drivers not working, unable to find files, laptop in danger (of what?  exploding?) and other such things. 

I am first of all thankful, very thankful, that I get this laptop – but I had high expectations of finishing some grants I have to write for work this morning on it, however to do so had to connect to the internet.  Hence the problem cometh…the wireless card needed software.  Didn’t have it, so husband Rob to the rescue – last night he figured out how to download the software onto a memory stick, and I figured out how to load it on the laptop so that it would work.  It did….last night.  It didn’t…this morning.  Last night I was overjoyed that it was working and so I just messed around with Facebook, etc.  Last night I should have pulled down my documents from my email to have them on my hard drive to edit.  Yeah, I didn’t do that.  So, you might be saying, what about your home desktop computer?  It doesn’t have the right version of Microsoft Office.

Enter favorite daughter #2.  Bethany had her laptop without the right version, but she was able to download a converter so that at least I can work on the grants. Hurray.  However, I also have to create a flyer in Publisher…her computer doesn’t have Publisher.  My laptop does, but I don’t have a way to connect to internet to email it when I’m done.  However, I can transfer to a memory stick and take it to my work computer, so that will be okay.

The whole thing is, why can’t it just be as simple as putting in a clean sheet of white paper into the typewriter that doesn’t give you error messages…oh yeah, then if you make a mistake…out comes the “white-out” and the dreaded task of reinserting your page right where it needs to be to correct the mistake.  Many of you who read this have no idea what I’m talking about!

Maybe I’ll just go  get my ink quill and ink bottle!  Argh!  Better yet, maybe I’ll just go in person and talk to the people we’re trying to get funding from, I’ll go in my horse drawn carriage that doesn’t need any gas….

(Tyson, Joel, Chang, Tom, Steven…where are you guys?  You’d know just what to do!!!!  By the way, I posted this post from Bethany’s laptop since her wireless connection works fabulously!)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Just a phone call away….

    Of course in this case, we need to be closer…

  2. Donna says:

    Oh, the memories of the steel band tightening itself around my forehead as I was trying to finish a senior project. Oh wait, that still happens. I have typewriter if you want to borrow it. It was my mom’s. However, it is electric so it is sorta like cheating.

Leave a Reply

