Ok, before all you skeptics and realists remind me that this can be subjective and that there are studies that can prove just the opposite – I know that, but , I found this quote today that is my favorite quote of the day as I am definitely a fierce coffee drinker, and I happen to think Tomas DePaulis, PHD, researcher at Vanderbilt University’s Institute for Coffee Studies is a wise man! (Even though I hadn’t even heard about him until today!)

…Over the past 20 years, over 19,000 studies have been conducted to examine the impact of coffee on one’s health. Overall, the results are good news for the 110 million Americans who routinely enjoy this traditional morning ritual.

“By and large, the studies (2) show that coffee is far more beneficial than it is harmful,” says Tomas DePaulis, PhD, researcher at Vanderbilt University’s Institute for Coffee Studies, which conducts its own research and tracks coffee studies around the globe. For most individuals, studies show that very little bad comes from drinking coffee, but a lot of good…    (read full article here)

I love my coffee and my coffee loves me.

I will drink it in a boat with goat, I will drink it on a box with a fox, I will drink it here or there, I will drink it anywhere.  I will drink it in the sun, I will drink it just for fun.  I will drink it in the dark, I will drink it in a park.  I will drink it from a dish, I will drink it with a fish…okay, okay, I’ll stop……..(shout out to Dr. Suess). 

I have been known to sit in the 98 – 100 degree weather, coffee cup in hand.  There’s just never a bad time for coffee. 

Now, while there’s never a bad time for coffee, there is definitely bad coffee.  Bad coffee is the kind that you can see through as you pour it in a cup – seriously, why bother.  Bad coffee is the kind that has been sitting so long in the pot that it begins to thicken and smells like mule hoof stew.  Bad coffee is the kind that people brew twice through the same grounds – don’t do that!

Good coffee is a nice strong brew – Starbucks blends still are my favorite – either black with something sweet to eat or with a skotch of your creamer of choice, poured into a fun mug.  Best if you drink with a good book, or in the company of someone you love. 

Bring on the java, baby!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. lwayswright says:

    I just know that coffee makes my hubby turn from a grump to a happy man…that’s enough proof for me!

  2. jose says:

    two words: “INVITE JOSE”

    🙂

  3. Tara says:

    I was looking for coffee backgrounds for my newly purchased laptop this brisk evening and I stumbled upon your writings. I have to say you are absolutley entertaining for me to read, and I hope you continue to publish, as i will spread the word of your journeys. I havent had a chance to read all of them, but i am saving you under my favorites…i have a huge lot of friend and family that are onliners, as myself, and HUGE coffee consumers,,,as myself…Coffee is not a choice, its a way of life. I have a shirt that says-Given enough coffee i can rule the world.
    I am a 30 year old college student in northern Indiana,,,and I may say that I havent found any other blog sights I can relate to..but you, have done it. From coffee to nose piercings… i can relate…thank you…please,,keep writing..

Leave a Reply

