Eurovision Song Contest 1973 Spain Mocedades – Eres Tu

Ah, this song gives me such fond memories of my childhood. Mark will understand. Mom and Tricia will understand. Many of you will just say, hmmmm….but that’s okay. I remember singing with them, especially on the high “Eres tu, uuu,uuuu!” Rock on, Mocedades! Now if only I can find their song, “Back of the Bus”

As long as I’m walking down Monday’s Memory Lane…here are a few other songs that are very sappy but bring great memories to me:

Honey, I Miss You (Bobby Goldsboro – my brothers would play their guitars and sing this and I would be so sad…)

I’ll Have to Say I Love You In A Song (shout out to Jim Croce – He was awesome.)

Baby I’m Yours (Debbie Boon…I could lip sing to every song on the You Light Up My Life record album I had.  Sad, but true!)

Weekend in New England (Barry Manilow – yep, it’s true, I was a Barry Manilow fan growing up – funny story about that is that when Rob and I were just newlyweds our Subaru was broken in to and they stole all our cassette tapes – but left the Barry Manilow one…hmmm….what does that say?)

I am I Said (Neil Diamond – again, it’s true, I had most of his albums growing up.   I loved trying to sing to all the words of Hot August Night, but I Am I Said has always been my favorite – probably because I can remember my brother Mike singing it when I was just a little girl.)

Too Much Heaven (The Bee Gees…who could forget the Bee Gees -oddly enough I see their hair and some of my old pics from the 70’s and wonder if it secretly inspired me to have hair like them?  Awkward!)

Take a Chance (ABBA – this one was a favorite, but I’m posting it for David Mercer.  For some ridiculous reason he thinks I sound like one of the girls on this song. You gotta love all the ABBA costumes and creativity with make up!)

Okay, I’ve probably tortured you all enough – those of you brave enough to view all of these songs.  🙂  There’s tons more I could share, but I’ll refrain.  I’m sure if you were honest you’d have a few doosies in your own music closet to share!  Okay, come on…out with it…what were your sappy songs of your growing up years?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. Mandy says:

    Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head…dad used to sing it to me on the way to school in Kindergarden. Also used to sing You Are My Sunshine.

  2. Jen says:

    I love those songs! I was (and probably still am) a Huge Barry Manilow fan! And please….Honey, I Miss You…I didn’t know anyone else even knew that song! Thanks for this post….brought back some memories!

  3. J says:

    Aaaaahhhh – a beautiful trip down memory lane! Yes, I got a lump in my throat in the late 60s to Bobby’s wiggly voice. Jim Croce was probably the first celeb I ever mounrned. Yes-I have a memory-connection to each of these songs, but I may have been the worst nerd of all because I even remember the Latina on the Lawrence Welk show in 1974 who covered Eres Tu…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anacani

    Yes, I watched it andsang along with her.

  4. Neva says:

    This is what NHCC is going for! Where can I find outfits like that? They are perfect!

Leave a Reply

