Elise:  Mom, how well do you know algebra?

Me:  I don’t…well, actually, try me.

Elise:  Okay, here’s my equation (shows me)…if a negative sign is in front of the 3, does it apply to the 3 and the parenthesis?

Me:  Well….(pause, because I have no idea), try F.O.I.L. (said triumphantly!)  First Outside Inside Last!

Elise:  Mom (exasperated) not for this, that’s for something else.

Me:  Oh, well that’s all I remember.  Wait, wait…what about the Quadratic Formula?

Elise:  Whatever mom. (Rolls eyes and laughs)

dec-017

Note:  Yes, I failed Algebra once, aced it the second time around (I have no idea how) and had to have a good friend tutor me through it in college but made it through.  Algebra. bleck!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. Jenny Freyta says:

    Oh my goodness! That is so funny, I can’t stand algebra. Thank you for this laugh, I need a good laugh on Monday mornings. Thank you so much for coming yesterday- it was such a fun day! 🙂

  2. jeanie says:

    My Algebra teacher wrote in my yearbook: I’d like to have known you beter andprobably could have if I’d been sitting in Laurie’s seat.

    I don’t think it is that we can’t DO Alegbra, Carol Ann, or that we don’t use it constantly, I think it is just that we have developed our own language for it. I am going to choose to believe this!

  3. steph says:

    agreed. algebra = ew.

    (c:

  4. Jason says:

    Algebra Rules!

  5. Elise says:

    haha! well at least you tried i’ll give you that! I happen to love algebra, apparently i didn’t get it from you because you like geometry. ew!

    btw…i left this comment earlier and realized i was you leaving the comment, so i had to delete it somehow. i was able to guess your password to go in your account and delete it… maybe she should work on changing that. haha! love ya!!!!!

Leave a Reply

