Today was “RC Day” – Root Canal Day.

I got to the Dentist’s Office on time.  Sat and read my book for a few minutes and then they called my name.  A cheery Dental Assistant asked me how I was doing.  “A little nervous,” I said outloud.  Inside I was thinking, “Let me see, I’m here for a root canal – how do you think I’m doing?”

I got to the little procedure room and was happy that it faced the mountains – at least there would be something pretty to look at.  Then I noticed they had a TV to watch, maybe a movie to take my mind off of it?  Nope, it was ESPN Baseball all the way.  Rob would be proud if I could actually tell you what game I was watching, but I can’t remember.  I know it WASN’T the Rockies, how’s that.  Maybe it was the NYM and CIN?  Did they play today?  Some baseball fan will know.

The dentist swabbed my gums and asked me a few questions.  Then before I knew it he swooped out the dreaded needle of death, as I like to call it, to numb the area.  I HATE that part.  I always psych myself out and try to always close my eyes.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be until he said he had to go really deep to numb the area with double the amount since I’d been in so much pain. After about 6 different injections he let me rest up a few minutes to let the novicaine take affect.  Let’s just say it didn’t tickle!

About 5 minutes later after the dentist and I chit chatted about a bunch of random topics, I felt like my right side of my face had increased about five times its size and my tongue felt like a dead fish. Out came the mouth plastic guard thing – a kind of tent contraption that isolates just the tooth he needed to work on. He clamped it down on the tooth – it was kind of like I had a mini umbrella stuck in my mouth. But, it protected my mouth from all the gritty little gross pieces of tooth/filling/goop that gets drilled out, which is far more pleasant than having that all swirl around in the back of your mouth making you want to spit or swallow but knowing you have to keep your mouth open the whole time.

Out came the drill and about 302 other little tools and contraptions to assist him in getting the roots cleaned out. The good news is that I was so numb that the only thing I felt was pressure. The sound of the drill and the creepy smell of burning tooth-ness wasn’t too pleasant, but I kept concentrating on the baseball game that I really didn’t want to watch which helped some.

It took about 1 and ½ hours total of drilling and inserting little brushy-wiry-scrapy tools to clean out the roots and then after x-raying things to make sure the roots were completely cleaned out, the dentist filled the tooth. I have to go back in 4 weeks for a crown to complete the procedure and in the meantime the pain should significantly diminish until I’m pain free. Whew!



About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Denise Schowe says:

    I swear there is a smell involved with any dental procedure I’ve ever had. A smell to that awful shot(s) they give you. The drilling smells nasty. Can you tell, I’m scarred for life and I haven’t even had a root canal yet. I hope if I ever have one, my roots aren’t “curvy” like yours. Glad you got some relief. I’m having sympathy pains (and smells) for you just reading your blog!

  2. j says:

    Now all my teeth are hurting…

Leave a Reply

