I am cursed with Food Envy.  I cannot go to a restaurant and just order what looks good. I MUST hear what everyone else is ordering, just in case I haven’t thought everything through.  Rob knows this and sometimes refuses to order until I do, just to spite me, at which case when he does order and if I think he might have an edge on what would taste better, I’ll promptly change my order. So there!

I try not to let this curse overtake me.  I try to just boldly go in, choose something, order with confidence and then be satisfied with what I get…it just doesn’t work!  It’s the worst when someone else’s plate is delivered with a flourish and it looks like the Taj Mahal compared to your measly little cardboard box hut!

I’m also not afraid to let the wait staff know if something is just, well, gross.  I’m polite about it, but I will definitely ask them to cook something more (like the time I was served raw chicken) or to prepare something else (like the time my burrito cheese tasted like laundry soap).  Rob would never do this.  He would accept salmonella with gusto instead of complaining.  Although, he knows I have no trouble, so I’ve had to “ask on his behalf” before.

Food envy hit today with a vengeance.  My friend, Tiffany, ordered a way better looking dish than I did at Tia Maria’s.  She had a succulent looking piece of steak, with fried potatoes – big circles of potato-ness that looked delicious – and an odd assortment of other yummy stuff delivered piping hot to the table with a bonus of 2 flour tortillas!  I almost caved and copied her order, but no, thinking I needed to get a grip on my food envy, I just ordered my original choice – a chili relleno, bean burrito and cheese enchilada.  I didn’t even get tortillas at first and had to ask for some.  I so had food envy!

Sigh – I guess I just have to live with this curse. 🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Jeanie says:

    Then I can help you. For I always know what I will order and it is almost always, without fail, the best thing at the table. My husband always regrets HIS order and eats off my plate! I can’t say that my choice truly is better, necesarily, but that I am convinced that it is seems to affect those of you with your particulat food-envy-disorder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

