Glum
 

 Moody and melancholy; dejected.
 Gloomy; dismal.
n.

  1. The quality or state of being moody, melancholy, and gloomy or an instance of it: “He was a charming mixture of glum and glee” (Lillian Hellman).
  2. glums Chiefly British. The blues. Often used with the:
    “Most other publications have got the glums” (Tina Brown).

Yep, it happens to the best of us…we fall into the grips of glum. If glum was personified, I think it would be like a big massive glump of gluey substance that would ooze around you, all sticky and disgusting and you’d feel as if you had actually plummeted into a big life-size glob of sticky dough. If you’ve ever kneaded sticky dough, you know how frustrating it is to try to get it off your hands, the more you try, the stickier it becomes.

It doesn’t happen too often, but there’s no other way to describe the mood of the past few days for me – I’ve been glum, I’ve fallen into the dough. I even benched myself on Sunday, took myself out of the play and made myself take a nap. It’s the mood where nobody wins. Ever happen to you? I’m sure Rob has been overjoyed. I must admit I haven’t been my usual sunshiny self lately. Rob has tried valiantly to be good natured in spite of my dripping sarcasm and negativity, guess I’m just pressing in to test the 24+ years marriage vow of “for better and for worse”.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll return from the grips of glum.

One cure that I’m looking forward to is heading up to the mountains one of these upcoming weekend days to bask in the beauty of the aspen trees as their leaves change to gold. This is a cure highly recommended by many and one that I am definitely excited about.

(Random thought – wonder how many words rhyme with glum?…chum, hum, bum, some, plum, come, rum J, fum (as in fee, fi, fo), scum, thumb, dumb, crumb, gum…bonus to any reader who uses all the rhyming words in one coherent sentence! Albeit the bonus for you will just be the simple satisfaction of having completed such a task. J)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Mandy Bohall says:

    I get restless more often than glum but the general effects are the same. I got your message, how about Monday?

  2. Jeanie says:

    Love ya, chum. Time to restore and down some pumpkin spice lattes?

Leave a Reply

