My husband came home and shared a funny little story with me.  There is a couple who attend our church who have taught their kids to yell, “Respect the Turkey!”  everytime they see a place where Christmas has exploded before Thanksgiving has even come.  Gave me a good chuckle…plus it’s fun to yell out the window driving by the decorated houses or store fronts!  Try it!

Thanksgiving is definitely right around the corner.  I’m excited.  Thanksgiving is a time for family, food, fellowship, fun, and more.  Somehow I always get deemed “the organizer” of Turkey Day.  This year I was late getting my email out to the list of possible participants (family and friends like family) and the menu options.  We’re a mixed group of family and friends and people we find out about who don’t have family and need a place to celebrate.  In terms of the menu, we’re kind of split down the middle on who likes what, but we generally go the Turkey and Tacos route.  Some like the traditional turkey-ness fixins, gizzards and all, others prefer a little south of the border chicken taco action.

Here’s a list of some of my must haves:

  • Randy Carter’s corn casserole and green bean casserole – my mouth is watering just thinking about it!
  • Kathy Fodness’ Minnesota Fruit Salad
  • My mom’s cranberry salad, pumpkin and chocolate pies
  • My mom’s mashed potatoes, only this year she’s passing the baton to me to be the Queen Potato Masher…yikes, the pressure!
  • My apple pies – not trying to brag, but I really do love my apple pies.  I love the process of carting out my apple peeler/slicer/corer thingy out of it’s box, getting it all set up and then letting the juices fly! 

There’s more each year of delectible delights in the food category and I’m always anxious to add to my list of favorites.

We gather together, eat until we’re stuffed, talk, laugh, cry, remember, play games, eat some more, talk, laugh, cry, play games…and sometimes wrap it all up with a trip to the movies. 

Thanksgiving – a time to reflect on God’s blessings in our lives.  A time for family to remember how important it is to remember family!  A time to watch new little generations of kids start to bond together as cousins and friends.  A time to see how time has passed as the “used to be the youngest” generations look around and start to see a few grey hairs and how gravity happens to everyone.  A time to make new memories.  A time to honor those who are no longer with us.  Yes, thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday and I’m really looking forward to it!

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody!  My this year provide you with many opportunities to reflect and count your blessings.

Note:  What are some of your favorite Thanksgiving traditions?

…and on the lighter side

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Love it! I’ll have to teach my kids the same. 🙂

    I also say “ncbt” – No Christmas Before Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

