I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Christmas time!

The day after Thanksgiving for me has nothing to do with Black Friday Shopping, but has everything to do with decorating the house for Christmas.  My mother-in-law is visiting from Arizona and she told me that our house is the most decorated house for Christmas she’s ever seen.  (I think she needs to get out more…) We do have a lot of decorations.  Some of you Christmas decorators out there must have a theme.  I don’t have a theme…unless you call “hodge podge” a theme.  I have decorations that are in sad shape, but I feel like I’m betraying them if I throw them out so I carefully mend, glue, or “re-purpose” them until they just are just in pieces.  I have decorations that I wonder “why in the world did we ever get this”…I have decorations that make me tear up every year.  Some from my childhood, some that the girls made over the years.  Some from ornament exchanges.  Some I just fell in love with and had to purchase.  And somehow I’ve ended up with four nativity sets.  This year there’s even one in the guest bathroom.  Is that weird?

Stockings are a big thing for me.  I had beautiful “stuffed animal”  stockings for the girls for a few years.  I even managed to cross stitch their names on them…they were a lot of fun, but they got stored in a trash bag that accidentally made it’s way to the trash pick up.  Sigh…  This year we added a few new stockings and I was in a hurry for what to put names on with – just so you know, black glitter fingernail polish works great.  🙂

The last piece of decorating is putting the tree topper on the tree.  It’s a special tree topper.  One of a kind.  Irreplaceable.  It’s…..the ghost/snoopy/angel/kleenex/pipe cleaner/angel that Elise made when she was only about 3 years old.  It’s been carefully put away each year and so far is going strong.  (I wonder what brand of tissue it’s made of?  Hmmmm.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also love all things snowman.  I have a ton and yet I am always tempted to buy more when I’m at the store.  I don’t know why, but I just love them.  My super big stuffed snowman is still hiding in the garage somewhere this year, but hopefully we’ll find him…or maybe he’ll hibernate until next year.

This is the time of year where I do a lot of sitting and thinking…I grab a cup of coffee late at night, and sit and watch the twinkling lights on the tree, thinking about all the years of Christmas…of my loved ones who are no longer here with us to celebrate…of my first Christmas with Rob…first Christmas as a mom…Christmas holds wonderful memories for me.

This year we’re we have the “joy” of figuring out adult children’s schedules for the festivities.  But we WILL do it.  We’ll have our traditional “whiskey shrimp” dinner and I WILL be waking someone up on Christmas morning with Rich Mullin’s “You Gotta Get Up” Christmas song…even if it’s just Rob and the dogs!

I know it’s a hectic time of year for some, but don’t let the days fly by without pushing the pause button once and a while.  Pause to reflect on what your traditions have been.  Or if you don’t have many, pause to think through how to begin traditions.  They don’t have to be elaborate.

It’s the little moments repeated, with family and friends that sink deep into our hearts and rest there for years to come!

P.S.  I don’t even think I had very much “Christmas Bully” in me this year!  🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Traci says:

    Thank you for this post. I need to be reminded to pause this time of year!

Leave a Reply

