Wow!  How crazy that we’re at the front side of a brand new year.  2010

A friend was trying to think up sayings for 2010…you know, the corny ones like “lose some weight in 2008”  So far none of the ones I’ve heard have hit a chord for me.  The only one I could think of is “pick up a pen in 2010” to try to bring back the art of letter writing.  I love receiving handwritten notes or letters and RARELY does that happen anymore as we’ve moved beyond snail mail, to email, to the crazy world of tweets, texts, IM, FB, etc.

Rob and I were trying to think through the year ahead and for the first time in a long time I’m not extremely curious about “what will happen?”  2009 brought so many surprises and excitements that I’m still recovering – in a good way.  🙂  I think it’s okay and actually better for me (God says so!) to just take things one day at a time.  As we entered 2009 I had no idea Robbin would get engaged to Jake, Bethany would start a relationship with Dwight, or all the girls would move out by the fall and a few odd assorted happenings in between.  But, I am living proof that no matter the highs or lows, God is faithful.  God sustains you.  God protects you.  God comforts you.  God LOVES you unconditionally.  Wow did I see that played out in our lives this past year!  It gives me great courage to live day by day for 2010.

and a brief update from the holiday festivities…

  • Dec. 23rd – Whiskey Shrimp Dinner.  A great family tradition. Yum!  An old recipe my mom discovered on her 25th Wedding Anniversary trip to Iguasu Falls in South America.  We almost lit my cupboards and my face on fire when we lit the whiskey to burn off the alcohol.  Oh well, what’s a couple of eyebrows.
  • Dec. 24th – Christmas Eve services…3:30, 5:30 and 11:oo (Candlelight) Beautiful time to remember Christ’s birth and the peace that can only be found through Jesus as he lived and died and rose so we could live, eternally.
  • Dec. 24th – One batch of cinnamon rolls didn’t rise, batch number two finally did, worked on it ’til the wee hours of the morning!  I only make them once a year and I was bound and determined to have them this year.  First batch literally was a lump of mushy dough.
  • Dec. 25th – CHRISTMAS MORNING  my favorite!  Kelly tradition is to wake everyone up with this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfnXZGBqxFc Took playing the song 3 times this year to wake up everyone.  Then it was on to the stockings, then presents, then brunch with more family and friends, then off to the movies for a double feature AVATAR in 3D and Up in the Air.
  • Dec. 29th – a great fun day with my friend Debbie Bresina – we started the day in Golden for breakfast, then ended painting plates at a place in Arvada. 9 1/2 hours of good conversation and laughter!
  • Dec. 30th – had dinner with the Browns, not my daughter and son-in-law, but our other good friends, Kim and Tim.  We literally froze at Wahoo’s Fish Tacos downtown – I guess they don’t believe in heating their restaurant, but we moved on to Starbucks and closed it down, sitting by the fireplace reminiscing and catching up.
  • …and many days of hanging out with the best husband in the whole world!  His bright idea for being productive was to clean the kitchen.  Note, when Rob is a part of the project, be ready!  Clean the kitchen meant to remove everything, I MEAN EVERYTHING from every drawer, cupboard, pantry, etc. Clean the kitchen, sort and rearrange all items.  The trash man hated us this week I’m sure!
  • It was a great two weeks!

a few pictures of the festivities…


About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Mary Vigil says:

    I love the traditions and the pictures – great post!

  2. DEbb says:

    I have never seen you so focused as when you were painting that platter! Talk about intent on what you were doing! Oh, except that one time when your food was delivered and you couldn’t see the chicken hiding amidst the noodles…

Leave a Reply

