• …yes, it’s true, as my friend Kevin pointed out, I have not blogged in a bit.  I don’t think it’s as long of a blogging sabbatical as I have taken previously, but in the world of faithful everyday posters, it’s a lifetime!  So, here I sit, attempting to analyze why I haven’t written and trying to think of something interesting to say.

I am tired.  But it’s a good tired. It’s been slammin’ busy these past few weeks. 

Oh, did I forget to mention to my blog readers (all 2 of you) that I am going on a trip to Bolivia in less than 2 weeks?  Yes, that’s right, Bolivia!  🙂  That’s interesting news, right?  It all came about unexpectedly, but Rob and I will be leading a group from our church – 15 in all including us – on a mission trip to LaPaz, Bolivia.  We will be building classrooms at a Compassion International site. 

I’ve been to LaPaz before – but it’s been over 3 decades since I was there!   Apparently a few things have changed since then. 🙂  After the mission trip is over, Rob and I will remain in Bolivia for 4 more days.  We will fly in to Cochabamba – which was my hometown growing up – I left there in 1982.  So excited about this!  Here is my list of hopeful things to do:

  • Eat some crazy good food: a salteña, empanadas, peanut soup, sublimes, batones, fresh bread daily, arroz con pollo and more!

  • Introduce Rob to the open market – nothing like hanging slabs of meat in the open air – if they are still around.

  • Visit the Cancha and buy some cool stuff – maybe some rubber tire sandals?
  • Visit Carachipampa – the school I attended from K-8th grade.
  • Hang out at the New Tribes Mission home in Cala Cala – that was my home. And we get to stay there – how cool is that!  I hope to see my little footprint from when I was a kid and thought I could leap across fresh poured cement that was drying by the volleyball court…I missed, but a cute little footprint was left behind! 
  • Breath in the Cochabamba perfect weather air.  Take a walk down the avenida and enjoy the hustle and bustle of daily life.

  • 4 days!!!!  How can I show Rob my Bolivian life in 4 days!!!!  We will probably have to go back!

More thoughts to come…

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. Debb says:

    I am SO excited for your trip! First of all, I know that the group you are traveling will experience some amazing leadership and fun times with you and Rob. Secondly, you and your sweetie will be able to fulfill that dream of yours to visit the town where you grew up – and who doesn’t want their very bestest friend in the world to be glowing with happiness??

  2. j says:

    This is so cool. I know Rob will love seeing the country through your heart.

  3. Mandee says:

    So exciting! I am kind of jealous, I would love to be able to travel right now. Praying your travels are safe and you and Rob have plenty of time to see your Bolivian life.

    Please call or email when you get back! There just might be a little Pontasch for you to meet and share your adventures with!

  4. ale says:

    that is so truly great!! I hope you have a great trip over here, and it is really nice to know that there are people interested on helping Bolivia.
    I wish you the very best on your trip aver here (Cochabamba) and the hole Bolivia, you will see a lot of changes! 🙂
    Carachipampa, really? well haha it is still here and it is a really goos school. I am in the german school “Federico Froebel”
    well best regards!!

Leave a Reply

