I love rain.  I love the smell of rain.  I love looking out the window at a downpour.  I love the crashing thunder and flashes of lightning.  I love to sleep to the sound of rain falling on a tin roof.  Rainstorms are the best.

As a kid I remember some of the most fun moments ever were getting drenched in the rain.  One time in high school, while at Tambo (the boarding school in Bolivia I attended) a storm like no other hit…and resulted in flooding out several of the campus buildings.  I am sure the staff hated it, but the students had a blast.  We grabbed buckets and started removing water from buildings, splashed through all the muddy puddles; there was mass glee that overcame everyone, the glee that comes when something unpredictable happens – you just have to relinquish all control, and let it have it’s moment.  No use fighting, just let it happen, there’s nothing you can do!  (I’m not talking about the disastrous storms that hit causing extreme damage, just the occasional torrential downpours that render everyone useless, the kind that force you to give up plans and just wait – same feelings that come when we get the occasional blizzard storms in the winter.)

I love to get drenched from the rain – well, only if there’s no place to go afterwards. Yes, it’s true, vanity takes over – drenched hair and drippy mascara smudges don’t really work for me.  Walking in summer rain, though, fun times.

Usually rainy days also make me think of all kinds of “rain” songs. Here are a few.  Add your own to the list…bonus if you can finish out the lines below and name artists!

  • Rainy days and Mondays…
  • I love a rainy night…
  • It’s raining again…
  • It’s raining, it’s pouring…
  • Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head…
  • Rain, rain, go away…
  • Rain down, all around the world we’re singin’ rain down…
  • Come rain or come shine…
  • In the early morning rain…
  • Here comes the rain again…
  • It never rains in California…
  • Laughter in the rain…
  • Listen to the rythm of the falling rain…
  • Have you ever seen the rain?
  • I can see clearly now the rain is gone…

P.S.  I also love umbrellas.  Rob makes fun of me, but I carry one in the car and have one in my office just in case I get to use it.  I have a sturdy Mary Poppins-esque umbrella with an added layer for wind resistance.  Giddyness comes over me when I hear the sound of rain outside and know I will get to use it.  It’s the little things in life!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. stephanie says:

    I, too, love the rain…to me it’s refreshment and peace.

    Your story reminded me of when I was in Africa. There was an afternoon that we were hit with an unexpected downpour…I mean, it was crazy ridiculous. A number of kids were teaching me and my friend the rules of soccer when the sky opened up on us, but we just kept at it; just splashing and laughing and enjoying the cool-off from the exertion. After about 5 minutes we looked like a bunch of drowned rats, but it was amazing. Might be the best day ever. (c:

  2. J E A N I E says:

    Oh, ooo – I have a list of rain songs I love, too. I shall have to cut and paste yours to my spreadsheet (on old computer…not yet moved, I feel naked) and gather from your deep well (rain-full) of song knowledge! 🙂

  3. J E A N I E says:

    Oh-and remember the time you were singing “Rain down ” and HF got DRENCHED in a crazy mighty way? Yeah-this year-watch you song selection, please! Haha

Leave a Reply

