That was a request on a survey that I recently took to help a friend who was researching MKs (Missionary Kids), describe your relationship with God in one word.  I said, consistent.  It was hard to just think of one word.  There are sooooo many.  I chose consistent because for me I have lived a life that has had a lot of change.  I was born in Bolivia, lived most of my growing up years there, before returning to Colorado as a senior in high school.  The pattern in my life with relationships was this:  I would make friends who I would get very close to, but then their parents would leave for a furlough year and I would have to make new friends.  Sometimes my family’s furlough year happened when my friends would be returning and there would be a 2 year gap before we saw each other again.  If you think about growing up and making friends, (especially for someone who is super relational like me) then you know that not seeing them for 2 years gives way to a lot of change in that relationship.  Sometimes the distance prevented the friendships from thriving.  I quickly learned that sometimes friendships are for a season, but that God always brings new relationship opportunities into my life.   That’s the background for me choosing the word consistent. Because, my best friend of all, God, has never left me.

My relationship with him has spanned years, living in different countries, going through ups and downs in life, dealing with tragedy (losing a baby in my 2nd trimester of pregnancy, saying goodbye on this earth to my brother, my dad, and other friends, walking through the pain of divorce with people I love, seeing others suffer from deep tragedy in life), and experiencing the greatest joys of life (marrying Rob, having 3 beautiful daughters, celebrating my daughter’s wedding, being a part of an amazing body of believers who gather at Northern Hills Church, having so many wonderful friends in my life, oh my goodness, God has blessed me!)  But the most wonderful thing of all is that no matter what, no matter where, no matter when….my relationship with God has been consistent in my life – giving me life, strength, courage, and so much more.

I tossed this out on Facebook, asking others to give me a one word description of their relationship with God – boom, the answers are still floating in…here’s the list so far:

  • Unbreakable
  • Trust
  • Intimate
  • Surrender
  • Unbelievable
  • Love
  • Evolving
  • Beggarly
  • Powerful
  • Secure
  • Consistent
  • Servant
  • Undeserving
  • Amazing
  • Awesome
  • Grace
  • Blow-uptuated
  • Essential
  • Salvation
  • Patient
  • Pursuing
  • Comforting
  • Tango
  • Growing
  • Unfathomable
  • Providing
  • Unconditional
  • Complicated
  • Faithful
  • Unshakable
  • LongHaulish
  • Steadfast
  • Empowering
  • Incomprehensible
  • Permanent
  • Loving
  • Dependant
  • Sustaining

Ever thought about describing your relationship with God with one word?  It’s hard, but worth the reflection.

My relationship with God is…..

 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

Leave a Reply

