I’m on my way (please insert a drum roll here)…to becoming a,  (gasp of unbelief here)…runner.  Yep, that’s right.  Little old me.  Who would have thunk it?

I have greatly admired many runners over the years, namely my husband Rob.  He has taken running so seriously and it has been a joy for him to discover the many aspects of running.  He has shared several of them with me over the years:

  • I can really think through life on my runs.
  • I practice my sermons on my runs.
  • I may be able to be better at running at my age than anything else (other sports that  he’s loved over the years).
  • I can pretty much eat whatever I want because I run.
  • I love being in the beauty of God’s creation when I run.
  • It’s a way for me to contribute to being healthy and preparing me to be a very active grandpa.
  • And the list goes on….

My affection for running has always started with “loathe”.  Yep, LOATHE.  I have been known to say, “I don’t run, unless I am being chased by a pack of wild dogs!”  Or, if asked if I run, I quickly will say, “Not on purpose!”

Well, peeps, I have some earth shattering, mind boggling, news.  I have decided I WANT to run.  What?!  Yes, you heard me, I want to run.  My good friend Ann Joslin challenged me to consider running a 1/2 marathon with her in the fall of 2012.  I am about 87.3% sure I will do it.  I am taking it one day at a time for now.  Having become a little disgusted with my own self for some really poor habits I’ve allowed in my life that have not been healthy and have made me feel more like an overstuffed marshmallow most of the time, I had a little breakdown in December.  Rob was very encouraging and though I have asked before for his help and support, and then sorta bit his head off if he tried to offer it, this time I asked again and meant it.

Rob gave me his tips for starting out.  One of the areas I needed to address was my food intake.  Planning for health (not dieting) but planning for health.  Part of this was realizing that I truly am in the “overweight” category and the only way to adjust that is to increase my activity and to decrease my calories.  Oh, and this all happened right before the delicious smells and tastes that are around every holiday season.  Poop!  That meant I would have to be saying “NO” to the many delights I formerly had enjoyed for the holidays.  But, on the other hand, what better time to adjust and to not have even more challenge ahead of me post holidays!

Honestly, I am not very comfortable sharing this part of my life.  But, with Rob’s encouragement to share my journey, I decided I would and hopefully inspire others.  The journey will not always be easy, in fact, it’s turning out that most days it’s still really hard.  I’ve been here before.  Why did I let myself get to this point again? It happens over time, slowly.  But I am reclaiming lost ground.  I am owning my choices not for anyone else, but for me.  I want to feel healthy.  I’m tired of feeling lethargic.  I’m tired of running out of breath when I shouldn’t be.

So, since Thanksgiving I have been slowly losing the lbs.  Rob showed me the Loseit.com app on my phone (also a website) that is really helping me.  I track everything I put into my mouth – yep everything.  At first I HATED it, but now I’m getting used to it and it really helps having this app keep track of my allotted calories for the day.  It has a bunch of other very helpful features that I’d encourage you to check out.  I also log all my exercise.  My friend Zhanna agreed to start going to the gym with me.  It’s great to have a gym buddy!  My friend Malia is helping encourage me with all kinds of running tips.  When I grow up I want to be a runner like she is – um, she’s ah-mazing.

But for now it’s baby steps.  I am up to running only about 10 min before I have to walk a few minutes.  Little by little I am working on increasing my stamina, time and distance.  Who knows, maybe when you’re driving around some day you’ll do a double take and look out your window and see me – the “I LOATHE RUNNING, girl” running, not just running, but actually enjoying it!

I’m willing to take on this challenge.  So, here we go.  Just about to start 2012.  I will do my best to share as I can and again, my hope is that others will join me.  Cheers to health!  Cheers to living a life filled with energy!.  Cheers to making changes that matter!  Cheers to becoming a super healthy grandma for my amazing grandbaby girl who is due in May! Maybe some day she and I will run races together! Wanna join me?

Week five observations:  I’m feeling stronger.  I’m not as out of breath as I was 5 weeks ago.  I have been able to increase the reps and weights I’ve been doing and have had 2 successful good runs on the treadmill.  Looking forward to stepping outside in a couple of weeks and transferring all my energy from inside the gym to the great outdoors for my beginner runs. And, I am experiencing God’s provision of strength and endurance which gives me the perseverance to keep going. With His help, and the support of others I love, I CAN do this. Rob shared this video with me this week to fuel my inspiration.  Grab a Kleenex, it’s a good one!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=8SbXgQqbOoU

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. CAK, that is so great! You’re going to love running one day, I just know it. 😉 If you ever want to get together for a run with me, I’d love that! (And don’t worry, I’m not fast!)

  2. kmwcoach says:

    Congratulations on your new journey to health and fitness!

  3. Dave says:

    Carol,
    That is so great!

    Enjoy the journey!

    God will give you everything you need to make a go of this! Starting with a very supportive husband!

    Dave

  4. Diane Friend says:

    This is so awesome Carol Ann! I am on my own journey of healing and have worked up to 20 min on the eliptical. I have CFS (I think you know that) but it has challenged mine and my daughters life for the past 5 years now. We will pray for you as you will pray for us? I hope 2012 is our year to fully recover!

  5. Kaela Green says:

    I love it! Thank you for blogging this! I found myself saying “me too!!” to nearly everything you said:) I am slowly moving out of the loathe stage and found that I actually enjoyed my walgging yesterday- which really surprised me. Looking forward to sharing this journey together!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

