So I think my body has begun a new craving – it actually “wants” to work out.  I’ve heard about such cravings before.  I actually get a little antsy if I am taking a rest/recovery day or for some other reason can’t get to the gym.  Today I was planning on my first outside run.  But the wind through me off.  Early in the morning I checked the hourly weather and at the time of my run (which a few friends were planning to join me on) the winds were to be at 55 mph.  No bueno.  I decided to call and check in with my friends and everyone agreed, the wind = no bueno.  So we postponed our run together, the right decision,  but that left me hangin’.  My body was ready to go!  Rob had even mapped out a good first outside run for me.  I decided to do the next best thing…head to the gym and the good old treadmill.

I am learning the importance of good stretching before and after.  All the articles and advice I am hearing is that it is super important to avoid injury as much as possible as you are learning the tricks of the running trade.  Currently I do okay with all the stretches but can’t seem to grab my own right foot behind me with my right hand…weird.  I can with my left.  Must have less flexibility on my right side.  It is quite entertaining to watch me hop around and try – just ask Rob.  My nephew John showed me a few good stretches to help my IT Band muscle pain that I have been experiencing.  I get a little hasty sometimes to jump on the treadmill and start running, but the discipline of stretching is really helping so I do it.

Oh, and one other fun piece of news…I got fitted for my first pair of serious running shoes.  I tried several styles but the winner for me was a pair of Brooks shoes.  They are very comfortable and I went ahead and also got the custom fitted insoles as I have had a spell of super angry plantar fasciitis in the past and would like to avoid that from ever coming back!  It was an interesting process, running on the store treadmill and analyzing my gait and such. I walked out of the store excited and a little anxious, sorta felt like, “There’s no turning back now!”

So, today I did go to the gym and felt soooo glad that I did.  Here is my workout for today:

  • Stretching
  • Treadmill – 23 min
    • Walk 5 min at 3.7 pace, casual/brisk walk
    • Run 1 min at 4.7 pace
    • Walk 1 min at 3.7 pace (brisk)
    • Run 2 min at 5.0 pace
    • Walk 1 min at 3.5 pace (recovery)
    • Run 3 min at 4.7 pace
    • Walk 2 min at 3.5 pace (recovery)
    • Run 3 min at 4.7 pace
    • Walk 2 min at 3.7 pace (brisk)
    • Run 1 min at 5.0 pace
    • Walk 2 min at 3.5 pace (recovery)
  • Stretching
  • 6 sets of 10, crunches on abs circuit (ouch!)
  • 6 sets of 10, bicep circuit
  • 6 sets of 10, tricep circuit
  • 6 sets of 10, shoulder press

I still have a long way to go, but am excited about my progress.  Believe me, there are a ton of mornings where my bed feels really great and my mind tries to convince my body to just stay there…but after I finish at the gym I am always super thankful I didn’t give in to my mind and though my body is really sore, it feels great.  I often recall scripture to mind and that really inspires me to go!  Especially, “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me!”  It reminds me that I truly cannot do it, but with His strength, I CAN!

Anyone else who might be reading this who is afraid to start something like this, don’t be.  Just map out what works for you.  It starts with 1 day, then 2, then 3, then 1 week, then 2 then 3…

Biggest fear: That I will still give up some day or get hurt.

Overcoming that fear:  I just keep trying and make my goals small for now.   I am hoping to run a 5K in March.  My goal will purely be – …finish!  Speed, and other stuff can come later.  Then it will be to finish the Bolder Boulder, a 10K….that still makes me a little nervous.

Happy New Year, everyone!  May 2012 be the year you find something that renews and energizes you.  Consider doing something to contribute to your health!

Tip:  Every week pencil in your work out times into your calendar.  Make them as much a part of what you schedule as everything else.

 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Great advice! Can’t wait to hear about your outdoor run.

Leave a Reply

