…so, I was going to just jump on the treadmill for a warm up and then do my regular strength training on the circuit, but I decided to go for it and log in another full run (the one that Rob has mapped out for me to do over the next few weeks.)  I felt okay.  It was a little hard as I was sore from the day before, but overall I was feeling pretty good.  I kept having to remind myself to run relaxed…that’s been a tricky because for some reason my body will start clenching up, like it’s trying to hug itself as I move. But I kept talking to myself, soothingly saying,  “Relax, just relax!”  The problem with that is usually when I hear those words the next thing that happens is the dentist gives me a shot, or my good friend Ryan does an amazing series of crunching moves to align my back.  Why is it when you are told to relax it sends a shot of crazy anticipation adrenaline into your body and mind that makes you immediately want to take on a fierce ninja stance to avoid being taken off guard and ward off the oncoming possibility of attack?  Oh, well, I suppose over time I will learn to run relaxed.

Anyway…I was finally in a great groove,  hitting the pace I wanted and things were going well when I remembered seeing a runner on the side of the road yesterday and had a conversation with Rob about her running form. He helped me identify that her arm movement wasn’t keeping her body straight or working for her but was making her body shift side to side which can slow you down.  Reflecting on that, I immediately began to work on my form today on the treadmill.  As I attempted to use my arms to keep my body straight and level, I accidentally got my thumb caught in my earphones cord which then whipped my iPhone that was attached to the earphones cord out of it’s cubby in the front of the treadmill and it was precariously dangling above my pounding feet and the treadmill!  Yikes!  Somehow I gently tugged on the earphone cord and it was a tight enough connection into my phone that it was soon safe in my hands and then back in it’s cubby.  Whew.  Crisis averted.  Well….almost, about 4 min. later, again while trying to focus on my form, arms moving correctly, feet springing up correctly…I felt good!  I sauntered into a little daydream of what I might look like crossing a finish line someday.  I did it!  Cheers all around..a glorious accomplishment.  But, I wasn’t paying too much attention to myself and the distance between my body and the front of the treadmill.  And I was really motivated by a song and was just running my little heart out when…BAM!  My hand struck the emergency STOP button on the treadmill and I about catapulted off into space!  Ooops!  That was a teensy bit embarrassing as I collected myself, started the treadmill up again to finish my run, I looked around sheepishly and smiled a confident smile that said, “Hey, I might have meant to that!  You don’t even know.  Anyway, nothing to see here…move along!”

Tips/Lessons Learned:  #1 – I need to buy an arm band for my iPhone to avoid it falling and smashing to bits as I run.  #2 -The STOP button on a treadmill really works and works with a vengeance!   Never press STOP when you are running at your fastest pace (any pace really) and are daydreaming of when you are actually running a race, it will be a hazard that will be quite entertaining to others and will make you feel pretty dumb! #3 – Big machines are to be respected.

And in other news…Robbin has been feeling our baby grand-daughter move…so fun!  And yesterday she sent a text that Jake felt the baby for the first time.  This year is gonna be filled with some amazing moments.  Wow!  I am a blessed woman. 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. Neva says:

    Oh my word!! That is hilarious! I could picture you doing that! Yesterday I was running and panting and sweating so hard I think the lady on the treadmill next to me was genuinely concerned for me. It gave me the chuckles.

  2. cakboliv says:

    I know, Neva, it was quite funny. I wish you could have been there with me! 🙂 Maybe some day we can run a race together!

  3. That has happened to me with my ipod. And that is why I am vehemently opposed to the treadmill. 😉

  4. Keri says:

    Oh Carol Ann! How I miss you and your funny moments! Glad I get to read them! I am very excited for you and your running goals. Since my accident, I have been pretty immobile, but am getting back into it through physical therapy! I’m having a hard time getting motivated and reading your blog is helping! Love ya and miss ya!!
    ~keri

Leave a Reply

