Yes, that is right.  I ran (my training run mapped out by Rob) 4 days in a row.  What?!  Never thought that would happen.  Every time I think I just want to warm up a little and then do my other strength training I just feel like running.  So, I do.  I expected to be so sore that I couldn’t move and I was sore, but actually running is keeping me limber.  Is that normal?

Today I wish I could have run outside but my schedule was packed all day and I didn’t feel like running in the dark.  So, the treadmill it was…but at least there were no mishaps on the treadmill.

I was a little stressed out when I began to run.  I discovered that running is a great way to release pressure that is built up in your mind.  As I ran I began to release each of my concerns from the day.  I released them by remembering who is control – God, not me, and I asked Him to take my burdens from me and I prayed for each of the people I love who are going through a hard time.  I got a lot of praying done during my run.  What a great combo!  Running and praying.  Another fun discovery.

I was talking to a friend of mine yesterday and we were discussing how to know you finally “made it” as a dedicated worker-outer.  I think I still have a long way to go.  But, I see progress!  Six weeks ago I pretty much had to drag myself to the gym or to any kind of physical activity.  I made about 2000 excuses in my mind why I couldn’t make it…but little by little I just kept going.  Not sure what magical moment it started to turn in to an actual desire to go, but I’m thankful that it did.  I still argue with myself about going sometimes, but it’s a lot easier to get my work out in regularly.  I think about the “seat belt law”.  Before the law I may or may not have worn a seat belt when driving.  Once it became the law, I was constantly having to remember to fasten my seat belt.  Now I don’t even think about it when I get in the car, I just do it.  It’s automatic.  That’s how I want working out to be in my life.  Something that isn’t even a discussion, it’s just something I do.  Will I get there?  Well…I sure am gonna keep trying!

Tip of the day:  Don’t give in to giving up.  Just keep talking yourself into doing something.  Find what works for you.  Even doing a walk around the block every day to start is a great thing!  Then one day just be crazy and walk 2 blocks.  Before long, maybe I’ll see you out running with me!  YOU CAN DO IT!

 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Way to go CAK! I love how I feel when I’m consistently active, so that’s what my motivation is, even if I get off track for a few weeks. I for some reason can’t concentrate enough during my run to pray but I love listening to sermons and books. Glad you can though! It’s killing two birds with one stone.

Leave a Reply

