So it’s been a while since I blogged about my journey to being a self-titled runner.  I am still learning a ton about myself on this adventure.  I am learning the discipline of going on my runs even when I don’t feel like it.  I’m learning to run in different weather conditions…mostly stinkin’ cold weather and wicked winds.  Blech.  I’m learning that it’s true that there are moments when my body just seems to finally say, “Fine, I get it, I have to just keep running because you are NOT going to let me stop!” And I’m learning to pay attention to my body as it does guide me on days when I need a rest day or days when I have just a little more inside of me to push just a little harder!

This morning I planned an inside run early and was planning to do my regular routine.  My wise husband keeps reminding me that I have the rest of my life to add speed, distance and other running elements into my routines…just work the plan, he keeps saying.  The plan I’ve been doing for about 4 weeks now has been working.  I’ve noticed my increased stamina and pace.  I’ve noticed my heart rate is getting more steady and I don’t look like a frenzied woman about to pass out in the midst of the runs anymore.  So, today’s plan was…”work the plan”.  Hmmmm.  Not sure what happened entirely, but after my warm up I began running and was supposed to run 1 minute, then walk, then run 2, then walk…etc.  and I just couldn’t stop.  It felt great.  My pace was up a bit and I had the song All the Poor and Powerless cued on my iPod.  That song inspires me like crazy.  One of these days I will awkwardly begin shouting out the chorus at the end of the song while on the treadmill and that will be weird for everyone around me.  I decided I would run at least 3 min to start since it was feeling great…then 4, 5, 6 and finally at 11 minutes I decided my body needed a little break.  I walked a bit, then ran another consecutive 5 min, and then staggered running and walking for the rest of my 2 miles.  Now for all you beastly runners who 2 miles is just your warm up – GOOD FOR YOU, but for the other baby runners out there, 2 miles in 27 min was a big accomplishment for me today!  And though my legs are now forming very choice words to say to me, they actually don’t feel as bad as I thought they would.  🙂

I am closing in on nearly 10 weeks of intentionality towards running and eating healthy.  I’ve logged my food intake EVERY DAY for the entire time and have made it to the gym or outside running/strength training 5 – 6 times a week.  Here are the things that have motivated me to keep going in random order:  God.  Great tunes.  An encouraging husband. A few key friends who have been so encouraging – thanks Malia Mullen, Zhanna Veksler Smith, Kaela Green, Mariana Wakefield, Tari Holtorf, Rushelle Hathoot and so many others! Results in the weight loss category.  More energy. Great running shoes.  Actually enjoying running (what???). Becoming a grandma soon and wanting to be in the best shape I can to do all I can with my sweet granddaughter and the grandchildren to come. Competitive spirit with my own self. Understanding that this is a process – I do have the rest of my life to keep improving ( I just might be one of those wrinkly old ladies at 82 running races!)

I have had a few friendly critics who muse that it’s not fun to see daily posts about my health pursuits and such…but I don’t post them to discourage or make anyone feel defeated.  My only hope is that if you know me at all, you are surprised by this transformation taking place and that you are encouraged – because if I can do this, so can you!  Whatcha doin’ this afternoon?  Wanna go on a run?

P.S.  Also have now made  running up a hill at the end of my work outs outside a must do…a hill I used to mutter interesting comments about under my breath and would always time my workouts to end before having to go up “that hill”.  It’s probably like a baby ant hill to the mighty runners, but to me it was like Pikes Peak and now I’m actually running up it’s unwelcoming slope and dominating it!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Neva says:

    Yay friend!!! You are a super duper rock star!!! I wanna be like you when I grow up!

  2. bearrunner says:

    Keep at the running… Remember; Slow and steady wins the race! You want to take it slow and gradually improve that way you are more likely to stick with the sport and become that AMAZING runner you know you can be 😉

    cheers

  3. Elise says:

    Proud of you mama!! Love you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

