A few days late, but in honor of Dr. Seuss whose birthday was March 2nd…

Oh, and by the way, I think I can safely say now….wait for it, (insert drum roll for dramatic effect) “I. AM. A. RUNNER.”  I have been learning a ton about mental perseverance as I have taken up running.  This past weekend I was with some friends I haven’t seen in a long time and after the chit-chat about what everyone was up to these days in our families, I casually slid in to the conversation….”And, so…I’ve been running, actually.  On purpose!”

It’s been 16 weeks.  Daily food journaling and intentionality to work out 5-6 days a week.  I’m learning that as you get accustomed to a certain routine, it’s time to up the game.  And the funny thing is, your body wants to do just that!  This grandma-turtle-runner, as I have named myself, began huffing and puffing her way through a 20 minute walk/run workout that Rob gave me, never imagining that in just a couple of months she’d be running 2 miles as her new baseline for daily runs.  What in the world!  I still can’t believe it, but it’s true.  The food journaling has given me so much insight into eating healthy.  It’s not always easy, but I don’t look at it as dieting, but rather choosing wisely.  I just met my first goal of dropping 25 lbs. I think back to my pre-Thanksgiving emotional melt down with Rob, as I very defeatedly proclaimed how unhealthy and blech I was feeling.  I had no energy, I felt yucky, I knew something had to be done.

Now, sitting where I am 16 weeks later, I can’t believe what can happen to a person in that amount of time!  I am my own competitor, so far.  I’ve been tempted to engage in competition with a few friends, but that’s not the right next step for me yet.  I am learning to enjoy – really enjoy – running.  At my own pace, doing all I can to avoid injury.  The thing is, this is not about being a season for me, I am hoping for as long as God lets my legs carry me, that I’ll be running for decades to come.  I want to be one of those wrinkly 80 year old runners that you see who fill you with so much inspiration because they are out there doing it!

I must take time to thank those who have been so supportive.  I really appreciate the encouragement!  And a few of you have asked about joining me – truly I agree with you that, “If Carol Ann could do this, I certainly can!”  Boy do I agree as I write this post as a former loather of running – much stronger than hate.

So, for those of you wondering what my plan has been….this is what I recently sent to a friend to encourage her to get started and join me:

Here is my running plan – I’m not an expert by any sense, but it’s been working for me:

Weeks 1 – 5: I started at a 4.3 pace on my runs and 3.0 on my walking – by the end I was up to a 5.2 pace on runs and 3.5 on walking. Don’t worry about distance, just complete the running parts strong.

Walk 5 min warm up
Run 1 min
Walk 1 min
Run 2 min
Walk 1 min
Run 3 min
Walk 1 min
Run 3 min
Walk 2 min
Run 2 min
Walk 1 min
Run 1 min
Walk 3 min cool down

I’ve been running 4-5 times a week and then also strength training – sit ups every time, 6 sets of 10 and then 1 focus area- arms, legs, core. I also am logging my calorie intake on LoseIt.com (which they have an smartphone app for as well). Trying to regain health as I had let myself get out of control. It’s been 16 weeks now. It has been hard but I’m really starting to enjoy it.

Weeks 5 – 10:  focus on increasing pace on my run….maintaining between a 4.5 – 5.0 pace as I got stronger

walk 5 min
run 1 mile
walk 5 min

Weeks 11 – 13: focus on increasing my pace on my run….4.7 – 5.2 pace as I got stronger

walk 5 min
run 1.5 miles
walk 5 min

Weeks 14 – 18: focus on increasing my pace on my run….4.7 – 5.2 pace, still working on this

walk 5 min
run 2 miles
walk 5 min

Important: STRETCHING – a good 5 – 10 min before and after all runs….so important to avoid injury
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_1/126.shtml

Also important to get proper running shoes.  I went to Road Runner to get fitted for shoes.  They have you run on the treadmill and video your gait.  Then they measure and recommend the right shoe for you and give you several styles to choose from.  I bought Brooks…I love them! I also was fitted for and bought insoles because I have had a ton of feet issues that have been pretty severe.

Mental game:
I have learned what works for me to make my mind believe what my body can do…it’s such a mental game!  I have learned to be motivated by all kinds of things.  Here’s a good article on learning to stay relaxed. http://www.active.com/mindandbody/articles/Relax_Your_Mind_and_Body.htm

I also have found that I LOVE great playlists.  For some that looks like sermon podcasts, worship music, secular music…for me it’s a mix of all of it.  I also LOVE praying on my runs.  I have a set of people and requests I intentionally pray for and sometimes I just say, “Lord, who shall I pray for today?”  And I pray throughout my run…it’s the best.  I also sometimes choose someone to run “in honor of” because some days it’s super hard to run and I figure if I do it in honor of someone that helps.  Last week I ran in honor of my son-in-love, Jakob, because of his courage to go to Kenya on a mission trip.  I figured if he could courageously move out of his comfort zone, I could definitely run for 2 miles in honor of him!!! 🙂

Food Journal:  I use the tools at LoseIt.com

So, there you have it….let me know how I can be supportive to you in this journey and most of all…..go at your own pace!  Learn to enjoy it and when you don’t, you’re probably pushing yourself too hard! And I promise, if this grandma-turtle-runner could do this, YOU surely can too!  Come on!  Whatcha waiting for?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Jen says:

    I’m soo very proud of you!!! And, once again, what a tremendous example you have set for others/me. You’re gonna be one hot Gma 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

