I was listening to an interview on the radio this morning and they were discussing the hate that spews from any post about a political candidate these days.  Regardless of what party is represented…the status post elicits immediate comments that quickly turn vile and mean.  I am sorry I can’t remember the person’s name that was being interviewed, but she wrote a book about the ongoing battle to the death that happens during the election years as the media and people get caught in the frenzy of making sure they contribute to putting as much distance and polarizing each candidate from the other as possible. 

I do have my opinions about the election. I do know how I will vote.  But I have chosen to keep these opinions to myself.  The conversation in the interview floated to a place where they talked about Facebook allowing people to be brazen and brash, sassy and mean because of the anonymity of people not really knowing who they are.  Kind of like drivers who express road rage in their car but then get out and smile and carry on with their day quite cordially. For some reason [not just during the political election season] Facebook users feel there are no boundaries to what can be posted.  Hmmm.  I think there might be.  If indeed strong opinions need to be made…maybe start a blog and invite people to check it out once in a while and interact there.  Here’s to redeeming status updates and choosing to splash some love and joy into the Facebook community!

What if Facebook was treated like everyone was at a dinner party?  That was the question the interview ended with.  At a dinner party it would be super awkward and frankly quite weird if people who didn’t really know each other started slinging food at each other, shouting hateful things and even tossing forks and knives into the mix.  While some might find this entertaining, this would be super frowned upon by most. At dinner parties people actually talk with respect to each other and steer conversation away from offensive remarks and such, right?  Well, at least that’s what should happen. 

So…my friends, I leave you with this to ponder…do you act like you’re at a dinner party when posting your status updates or are you slinging spaghetti noodles with the best of them?  Where’s my napkin?  I think I need to wipe a crumb off my mouth.  🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Molly says:

    Love it girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

