(Just a few random thoughts swirling in my head this morning….)

As I continue to grow older my hope would be that some might think I am also growing a little wiser – it may not always seem so, but I have learned a few things along the way.  As life brings twists and turns, I keep learning how to navigate through the unexpected. Sometimes the only way around something is to walk through it. Over the past few weeks there have been some moments of anxiety in my life.  While I wouldn’t say that I embrace these times and welcome them, I have come to see them as opportunities.  It is in stressful times that you can “put feet to your faith”.  In the mundane or even keel times, it’s easy to claim you have faith and say all the niceties about trusting God, choosing joy, remaining calm and responsive, not reactive; but, in the moments of anxiety or unknown, it’s much hard to implement the things you may have said in better times. However, without the “sticky times” in life, you never have opportunity to exercise your faith muscles and walk with intentionality, rooted in your faith!  There are examples all around us – the cold and dark days of winter seem endless, but spring does come.  The stormy skies are ominous, but the sun returns.  Sometimes in the “blech” of a situation, you need to just commit to a spirit of perseverance and choose despite all things to be joy-filled.  (Psalm 73:26 is a great reminder… “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”)  I am thankful that no circumstance, person, or otherwise can rob me of the joy God can give me – the supernatural peace and strength that is so evident and can lift my heart out of the muck.  Whoop!  Another life lesson over the years is that the muck doesn’t magically evaporate when you are at peace with God, it can, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that it will – but, you have the God-given energy, wisdom and hope to keep going, knowing that despite the outcome, you will be okay.  For now I look forward to the sun returning, the storm clouds retreating and more adventures ahead.  Life’s detours allow for new perspectives, reflection and a chance to reorient one’s mind on what is truly important and what truly are the essentials in life.  Getting that shift in perspective is the gift in the midst of the muck and then gives courage to know that with your priorities in the right place, knowing where your strength comes from, and being willing to be reshaped and flexible to adapt and move forward, your heart begins to see the beginnings of spring again.  Bonus when this coincides with the subtle and sweet real-life examples of the tulips, daffodils and other beauties beginning to sprout all around outside!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

