Never underestimate the power of a “high five”…

Life has been a little crazy these past few months and my running hasn’t  been as “up to par” as I’d like it to be.  I’ve been struggling to find margin in my schedule to get my 3-5 runs in per week and sometimes barely manage to squeeze in 2 runs a week.  It’s frustrating, but it’s also life!

To any baby runners out there…just know this happens and don’t give up! I am determined to get back to my personal preferred running schedule and am hoping for that to be soon!

But…in the meantime, as I continue to squeeze in those fewer runs a week I’ve also noticed that my stamina is not as strong.  The 3 mile runs feel like forever!  This past weekend on one of my runs I must have looked especially feeble and tired.  🙂  I passed a very fit and fabulous runner woman running in the opposite direction I was on the way out and then on the way back home.  As I passed her the 2nd time she’d had time to “observe” my turtle pace and determined face for a while as I approached her.  It was also a scorching hot afternoon.  Unexpectedly, as I passed by her she put out her hand and gave me a “high five” accompanied by some kind words, “You’ve got this!  Don’t give up!”   Then a few minutes later I was at a stoplight waiting for the light to turn green and a guy rolled down his window in his pick up and yelled out “Great job running today!  You’ve got this!”  At first I was a bit embarrassed, imagining their perception of my poor little grandma body lumbering down the road…but then I realized I should take these encounters for what they were meant to be…encouragement.  “I do HAVE this!” I thought to myself!  “I WON’T give up!” I told myself.  And I found an extra spring in my step and was able to complete my 3 miles shaving just a few seconds off my normal time.  So there!

So…again, the point of this ramble is to remind you as you see runners out there, you can be an unexpected source of encouragement to them – a smile, a wave, a nod of encouragement and as long as you don’t freak them out, a high five as you run by!

Happy running days to all of you!

fb91da6a72ab7a3640e5bd2ce7204fa2

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

