There are just sometimes “those days”.  Yesterday was one. No matter how you try to change your perspective, pull yourself up by the bootstraps, take the high road, release control, choose joy, seek wisdom, live in the moment, focus on others, or all the other “good things to do to come out of your muck” kinds of things, it just doesn’t work.  Yep.  There are just sometimes “those days”.  It’s when even though your mind knows one thing and tries desperately to tell your heart how to respond, your stubbornness of heart refuses to do so and exercises it’s will to be irritated and grumpy and just plain old sorry for itself. Yep.  There are just sometimes “those days”.

It is “those days” I can feel it coming on and I know better than to open my mouth, but I do. I should have instead just “benched” myself and removed myself from the game.  But I didn’t.  So, a big thanks to my favorite husband who got to listen to my spewing of frustration.  He has a heart as big as the world and I’m grateful.  Even if in his best attempts to listen I actually end up attacking him.  Weird how that happens! As I barraged him with the toxic lava flow of my frustrations, I told him I felt like I was the mole in the Whack-a-mole game of life and when I stuck my head up out of the hole, I just kept getting creamed by some dumb mallet.  My husband graciously offered that maybe my head is stronger than that and the mallet keeps getting broken in the attempts to whack me down.  We’ll see. 🙂

But….

…allow me go down a little tangent here…I love the word but!  So many times in scripture when life its stacked up against a person the word “but” appears right before God’s biggest promises and hopes being offered.  Battles being won.  Hope being restored.  Such as…

And David remained in the strongholds in the wilderness, in the hill country of the wilderness of Ziph. And Saul sought him every day, BUT God did not give him into his hand. (1 Samuel 23:14 ESV)  ~ I’m sure King David was thankful for this “but!”

My flesh and my heart may fail, BUT God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (Psalm 73:26 ESV)

As for you, you meant evil against me, BUT God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today. (Genesis 50:20 ESV)  ~ I’d bet ya Joseph’s brothers were thankful to hear this “but!”

There are so many more occasions of this in scripture.  It’s a blessing to me to be able to wait expectantly for the “but” moments in my life, knowing that God hasn’t gone anywhere and is ready to reveal in his timing what comes next.

So I continue…

Yes, there are “those days” BUT today is a brand new day.  Yesterday is in the past.  I feel worn down, but am feeling more determined to get back in the game and to even make a difference today.

And bonus, it’s Friday!  The weekend is coming. Hooray!

Image

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Heather Von St James says:

    Hi I’m Heather! Please email me when you get a chance, I have a question about your blog! Heather.vonstjames(at)gmail.com Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

