Image

T minus 2 days! Yikes!  Headed to my birth country – Viva Bolivia!!!  Hooray! 🙂 Excited to share this beautiful country and people with my friends. Never did I dream that our church would be focusing on the area of La Paz and El Alto as a place to make a difference – our goal is to return every 18 months to be a blessing to the people there and interact with our *Compassion kids (500+ kids are now sponsored through Northern Hills peeps!)

This Friday a group of 17 of us from Northern Hills Church and 6 friends from Creekside Bible Church along with our favorite Compassion Staff Representative leave for a grand adventure.  Currently our bags are being packed, our hearts have been prepared to the best of our ability – we are taking a bunch of supplies down to our Bolivian brothers and sisters who we love so much.  My mind is whirling with all the last minutes…I’ve made about 138 check lists, tried to make sure all my ducks are in a row at work for the many projects happening there, I’m making sure I touch base with all my family and friends peeps that I need to before leaving, I’ve sent a dozen “don’t forget” emails to the team (they are probably now filtering my emails to their spam folders!) and I think/hope I am ready.  

The thing about these trips is this – you plan, but then you sit back and stay flexible because anything can happen.  It’s an adventure; one that steals your heart and gives you all kinds take-aways for living your life with more intentionality.  It’s a gift, an opportunity to discover new things about yourself and to learn from others – to be quickly reminded of how blessed you are when you come face to face with the extreme poverty and harsh living conditions so many of the people in the communities we visit endure daily.  It’s a delight to interact with the beautiful little faces of the children who are so excited to be visited by you.  It’s sobering to realize that there’s so much you can’t do, but you want to, but then you take a step back and realize you are making a difference one smile at a time as you link arms and come alongside those who need hope and love and a reminder that they are loved beyond measure by a God who desires to have a relationship with each and every one of us.

If you’re a prayer – pray for us.  We will need it!  Ready, set….here we go!

(I will be updating our adventures on this blog if you’d like to follow along…)

*Compassion International – Consider sponsoring a child!!!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Hi, I’ll be praying you have a safe trip. I wish I could visit you while you re here. I live and am building a hospital in Amachuma that is a rural district of El Alto. There is a nurse from England who has come here as a volunteer several times. The last time she was here we went to meet her little Compassion girl from the group in El Alto – a really special day with all of her family! If there is anyting someone who has been hanging around here for 26 yrs can do for any of you, let me know. I’ve got a good supply of meds and a little clinic in my home here. My phone number is 655 37 137. God bless you, Judy

Leave a Reply

