What a fun day!  We had the wonderful privilege of spending the day with our sponsor children.  It was so much fun!  Tears streamed down our faces as we met our kiddos – there’s really no describing this well until you experience it.  It is so great to finally be able to hug this little child you have prayed for, written to, sent funds to and wondered about for a very long time!

My daughter, Elise, wasn’t able to be with us this time, so I had the double blessing of being with Soledad, Elise’s sponsored child, and Luna, the sweet little girl I began sponsoring when we were down here the last time.  I told Luna I was surprised how much she had grown and asked if she’d been drinking some super powered milk or something since she’d grown so much!  She matter-of-factly responded, “No, madrina, I just grew a lot because it’s been a while since you have seen me.”  Brilliant. 🙂  She was very animated with me this time. And between her and Soledad, I had quite the day!  Soledad arrived dressed in her little pollera and manta (see previous blog post for explanation) and was quite talkative.  She quickly bonded with Luna and the two of them grabbed each of my hands and literally pulled me along all over the place!  We went to a play place and at one point as Luna was coloring and making a craft with a huge amount of determination and thought, Soledad leaned over to me and told me, “Frankly, this is quite boring, can we go?”  Oh boy did I have fun with these two adorable and very spicy little people today! 🙂

We had a wonderful day, but saying goodbye was hard.  Tears flowed freely and everyone gave each other about a dozen hugs and words of encouragement before finally tearing themselves away. I usually am able to check in on others’ experiences throughout the day, but not this time!  This time I barely could keep up with the 2 chatterboxes holding my hands.

It was a wonderful day.  We ended the day with the final night of the pastor’s conference.

Tomorrow we head to the 2nd center we committed to  working in.  A brand new bunch of eager faces will greet us and we are so excited to spend time with these kids!

Again, a little tuckered out, but in a very good way.  We are all still thankful to be here and to be able to be a part of all that is going on in El Alto and La Paz with Compassion.

Enjoy these pictures taken the past few days:

_MM19032-

 

_MM18842-

_MM19062-

_MM19055-

_MM18813-

* for another perspective on our Bolivian adventures, check out Brian’s blog here:  http://photobrian.wordpress.com/

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

