Looking forward is a good thing.  In a practical sense, if you look forward, you can recognize obstacles in your path and not trip over them.  Looking forward or ahead of you can also bring you joy as you see things like a sweet little person who loves you dearly running towards you with a big smile, saying “Grammie!”  Looking forward can be fun if you’ve planned a trip and are excited for the day to arrive.  Or if there’s are precious new lives waiting to enter this world of ours. Or if you’ve promised your life to another and the big wedding day is ahead of you.  And you can have fun with forward – like when you can pay it forward, passing along blessings that have been passed along to you.  Looking behind in reflection can be helpful, but sometimes it’s good to remember what’s past is done and often can’t be undone, so the next step is to look forward and discover. Discover new opportunity, new promise, new life, new hope, new adventures, new trust.  The only caution is that you can’t control what is “forward” as in tomorrow.  Well, depending on your perspective in life, you can’t really control anything but you can choose how you respond and act in all things. Planning is healthy and actually smart in many cases, but being flexible as you move forward can be super helpful.  Building hefty life shock-absorbers, cloaked in God’s mercy and grace and supported by His power and strength can get you through so many unexpected things, I have discovered.  This past year has had its share of life. Highs and lows, joys and sorrows, hilarity and tears, and pretty much everything in between.  But…my favorite thing about being God’s child is that NOTHING is ever wasted.  No tears, no laughter, no pain, no joy – they all are molded together to keep building our character and to shape us into something more than we could ever have dreamed of.  For this girl, it’s about releasing control, living for TODAY, looking forward to what is to come – not with anxiety, but with assurance.  God was with me then – God is with me now –  and God will be with me in all of my tomorrows.

And so, 2013, I thank you for the many twists, turns, bumps, bruises, teardrops, laughter, adventure, silliness, reflections, ambitions, frustrations, and more.  Each episode has demanded I decide if I truly do trust God in all things.  Each episode has reinforced His presence and goodness. Each episode has brought me peace after the storms. Each episode has given me more than I wanted sometimes, but exactly what God knew I needed to become who I am today.  This journey continues for as long as He wishes for me to be on this earth.  The only thing I wish is that in the moments I’m strong enough to truly embrace all of this, I could capture the essence of that in some kind of capsule I could take on the not feeling so strong kind of days! 😉

And there you have it…musings and ramblings by yours truly from my heart to yours. For today I am thankful and enjoying the discipline of Psalm 46:10, “He says, “Be still, and know that I am God…”

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

